Megan Allen, RN

June 19, 2014 mommytoaheartkid


So, this post might have nothing at all to do with Ava, but in all reality it has everything to do with her.

I finished nursing school.  Then took my boards.  And, I passed.  So now, I have this pretty little addition to my last name.  The long sought after “RN.”

 

Many people over the years have commented on my blog asking me how I am going to nursing school with a kiddo with CHD at home… And I hope to address some of those questions here and now. 

You know that saying “It takes a village…”  Yup.  It’s true. 

I had help.  A LOT of help.  My husband was great.  He let me study when I needed to, he stayed up extra hours to do things I would normally take care of, and he has put Ava to bed almost every night for the past 3 years.  My mother in law lives about 2 miles from us, and kept Ava over night A LOT.  Clinical mornings meant I had to be up at 4 AM at the latest and in my car by 5:15.  My mom, who lives 2 hours away even made special trips to watch Ava when we just didn’t have anyone to do it.  I missed ONE lecture, my entire nursing school career.  Thanks in large part to the three aforementioned persons.

Looking back, I was severely sleep deprived.  And I only started drinking coffee in the last few months of nursing school.  I’m not sure how I did it.  Nursing school is HARD.  It is not for the weak of heart.  Neither is nursing.  So, if you’re queasy, easily irritated, can’t function on less than 4 hours of sleep a night, can’t go without eating/drinking or peeing for more than 10 hours, this isn’t for you.  If you can’t hold a puke bucket while reciting normal lab values, this isn’t for you.  If you can’t do daycare runs, gymnastics/swimming lessons, 3 hours of lecture, a 2 hour simulation, dinner, bath, bedtime, still study for at least 2 hours, write a paper and then wake up the next morning at 4 AM, nursing school is not for you.  IT WAS HARD.  But, it was so worth it. 

After all, Ava was my inspiration.  I did this for (to) myself, and for my family.  I LOVE nursing.  I love my profession.  I love caring for people, I love the science behind it, and I love that I now hold an Associate’s Degree in Science of Nursing.  I am so proud of myself.  I’m proud of my family for bearing with me. And I’m proud of my new name.

 

 

As a side note–Ava is doing well.  We had a check up in February and we don’t go back until next year.  Her holter monitor results were perfect, and we won’t do a cardiac MRI until she’s 12 or 13 years old and doesn’t have to be sedated. 

 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Life with a CHD Tricuspid Atresia Uncategorized

Life with a CHD

beautiful daughter cardiologist visit CHD CHD Congenital Heart Defect Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Congenital Heart Defect surgery fear anxiety fear life strong Fontan Fontan Surgery Fontan Surgery CHD found out diagnosis tricuspid atresia problem surgery Giving back heart defect surgery Heart kid life life CHD life heart tears Life with a CHD life with a CHD fear life surgery scared worried life with a chd life struggles life with CHD Living with CHD Living with Tricuspid Atresia PICU
 
