End of the year update

December 16, 2013 mommytoaheartkid


I’ve realized, as this blog has lived on that every post becomes less and less about CHD, and more about life.  I have a very simply reason for why that’s true– because CHD is not that significant in our day to day lives.  I know, it’s hard to believe!  When you get the diagnosis of “heart defect” it’s all consuming.  The first 2.5 years of Ava’s life were ALL ABOUT CHD.  She was having surgeries, she has a stroke–and it was necessary to make her health the center of our universe.  So, to any people out there that have just heard the diagnosis, and are still waiting for surgeries, trying to make your kiddos put on weight, worrying about every little sneeze, cough and fever: IT GETS EASIER!  It gets better.  Really, life goes on, and CHD becomes less relevant. 

So here’s the update on Ava:  She turned 5 last week!  FIVE YEARS OLD! (As a side note– I remember not knowing if she would live for five minutes, let alone 5 YEARS.  So yes, this birthday was a huge milestone!) We’ve almost made it a year between cardiology appointments! (Yes, I finally said okay to “see you in a year.”)  It wasn’t hard at all.  Ava barely ever turns blue unless she’s freezing, and she only gets out of breath if she is running around for a long time and playing really hard.  So, we will see her cardiologist in February, and we already know he wants to do a cardiac MRI and a 24 hour holter monitor. (Ava’s first ever.  I am incredibly pleased to say that this will be her first at 5 years old!)  We are thinking they might repeat a neuro MRI while she’s in the machine and put under anyways just to see the lasting damage of her stroke.

The planned MRI leads me into school.  I scheduled her appointment for a week before February vacation, so if they feel they MUST do the MRI RIGHT NOW, they can plan it for the week after.  Otherwise, it’s going to have to wait until April vacation or May when I’m done school.  Just the way it is.  (Never be afraid to negotiate, bribe, or give ultimatums to your child’s cardiologist, neurologist, allergist–whoever!  That is how you get what you want.) An MRI is not going to be life or death for Ava at this point, so they can work around my schedule. 

School.  ONE MORE SEMESTER!  5 more months.  Graduation is May 17th and it can’t come fast enough.  I’m tired of studying and tests.  I am so excited to graduate and be a NURSE.  I’ve worked really hard for this.  I didn’t finish this last semester as strongly as I would have liked, but I finished, I passed, and I am almost a nurse. 

A lot of people have asked how I’ve gone to school.  Thankfully–my husband’s mom loves to have Ava and has taken her anytime I need to be somewhere or do something for school.  I wouldn’t have made it this far without her.  Other than that, I study when I can and when I feel like it, and I’ve done okay.  If you really want to go to school, I promise there is a way for you to do it.  Scholarships are great (and they have scholarships for childcare available, too).  Where there’s a will, there really is a way.

My current annoyances:

That college is exactly like high school with older, meaner bullies.

That people can’t put down their cell phones and enjoy the people right in front of them.  (And I am 24, and in the generation of tech and it annoys me!!)

That my dog thinks the Christmas tree is his person chew toy, and my cat thinks that the ornaments are all his new Christmas presents.

Yup, that’s it, I think.

My new year’s resolution:  (because I bet you all care. ;]) It’s the same as last year.  To give more.  I did really well at the beginning of last year, but like all new year’s resolutions, it was pushed to the back burner.  But Meg, what do you mean by ‘give more’, and aren’t you a poor college student?  Yes, I am.  If I can’t give monetary donations to an organization of my choice every months (which I hope I can manage), I have time, a shoulder, and a house that could use decluttering.  I am sure I always have something to give, even it’s only 5 minutes of my time.

Another resolution:  (but this one started 2 months ago, really) started simply as “stop gossiping.”  You see, while in school, I built a friendship primarily built on gossip, which got destroyed by, can you guess?!  Gossip.  So therefore, I decided I was going to be a better female.  I refuse to talk about people who are not there to defend themselves, I refuse to be caddy, and I promise to be *gasp* EXCITED for other people, girls, classmates, when they deserve recognition and receive praise for said task or opportunity. 

My last goal to work on: I hope this is accomplished by my two resolutions, and other factors… to build up some really good karma.  I could use it.  Not that I have bad luck and lots of misfortune, but I would just like to know at the end of the day that I have done good.  (No, not well, good.)

Thanks, as always, for listening to my ramblings.  :] 

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Life with a CHD Tricuspid Atresia Uncategorized

Life with a CHD

beautiful daughter cardiologist visit CHD CHD Congenital Heart Defect Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Congenital Heart Defect surgery fear anxiety fear life strong Fontan Fontan Surgery Fontan Surgery CHD found out diagnosis tricuspid atresia problem surgery Giving back heart defect surgery Heart kid life life CHD life heart tears Life with a CHD life with a CHD fear life surgery scared worried life with a chd life struggles life with CHD Living with CHD Living with Tricuspid Atresia PICU
 
