This is a very impromptu post

December 12, 2011 mommytoaheartkid


This is a very impromptu post.  I just felt like writing, or procrastinating.  I’m supposed to be studying for my psychology final.  I guess that’s what inspired this post, really.

I was looking for ways to procrastinate.  I don’t like this class, and I have not been in the mood to study for this class all semester.  So I have a stack of coupon inserts next to me which I’ve been cutting in between glancing at the pages of my study guide.  I finally printed my study guide 2 days after typing it all out.  And before I printed it, I baked Ava a birthday cake.  It took me 2.5 hours to bake, cut, frost, stack, frost (again) and decorate this cake.

I finally sat down on my bed with my study guide, and I checked my facebook.  There’s a non-heart friend giving birth, there’s babies in the hospital, and there’s many families stressed about the upcoming holidays.  Then I cleaned my desktop.  It’s end of the semester ritual for me.  So I put everything in to their designated folders.  “CHD Related,” “Blog,” “School,” “Pictures,” and “Legislation.”

Today I cleaned.  I went to Hannaford.  I folded and put away laundry.  I watched an episode (or 3) of Gossip Girl.  I fed Ava 3 meals, 2 snacks and got her numerous assorted drinks.  I made sure her hair got brushed, she was dressed, got her ready for bed, and gave her 3 different medicines two times today.

I read emails.  I got an email setting up a time to go look at a duplex this Friday.  I re-read an email from the American Heart Association about a Go Red for Women luncheon I am speaking at in February.  [[Note to self: Start writing your speech SOON.]]

My life is busy.

I remember times when I would get so overwhelmed when I would sit down and compartmentalize my life.  “There’s just too much,” I would think.  It doesn’t freak me out anymore.  This is my life.  CHD, legislation, parenting, studying, school, Dr’s appointments, keeping house, keeping peace, reaching out, shopping, emailing.  Somewhere along the way the neat little boxes I kept everything (separately) in became one huge (yet organized) tote.  I’m okay with that.

P.S.—I mentioned baking Ava a cake.  I can’t believe she’s going to be THREE years old tomorrow!!!  I can still remember labor (when do those memories start to fade?!)  and I can remember being so scared that I would never get to hold my baby.  I’ve held her for 3 years now, and I feel beyond blessed to call her mine.  It’s been 10 months since her Fontan and stroke.  She is brilliant and funny.  She’s recently learned to dress herself, and LOVES helping with laundry.  I can’t believe she’s been here for 3 years.  Time is a funny thing…

Entry Filed under: Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to comments via RSS Feed

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness

Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Life with a CHD Tricuspid Atresia Uncategorized

Life with a CHD

beautiful daughter cardiologist visit CHD CHD Congenital Heart Defect Congenital Heart Defect Awareness Congenital Heart Defects Congenital Heart Defect surgery fear anxiety fear life strong Fontan Fontan Surgery Fontan Surgery CHD found out diagnosis tricuspid atresia problem surgery Giving back heart defect surgery Heart kid life life CHD life heart tears Life with a CHD life with a CHD fear life surgery scared worried life with a chd life struggles life with CHD Living with CHD Living with Tricuspid Atresia PICU
 
